Comics: The Dark Side Of The Pull List

If, like me, you still buy your weekly comics at your Local Comic Shop on a regular basis, then you’ll be familiar with what a pull list is. If you’re not familiar with the term, a pull list is a list of comics you want your LCS to hold for you to ensure you get the comics you want; the LCS will use the list you give them to pull the comics from their shipment.

Pull lists are a fantastic tool to ensure you get the comics you want each month, and that you don’t miss an issue of a comic you really want. They also help your LCS to order enough comics to ensure Pull List customers get the copy they want, plus an extra copy or two for the shop rack (depending on the comic, however, there may be no rack copy, hence the importance of the pull list). I’ve been a fan of the pull list for almost fifteen years across a few different comic shops in two different countries, because I’m able to rely on m comics being held for me; a very convenient thing when I sometimes go a couple weeks before each visit to the comic shop.

So why is the pull list a bad thing? For publishers and retailers, it really isn’t. But for you, it can be?

Having a pull list is a great way to ensure you don’t miss the comics you want to read, and don’t really have time to locate all the comics you want in any given week. However when you’re committed to buying comics from a pull list it can tie you to a series far longer than any non-pull lister would be. Have you ever stuck with a comic that hasn’t been resonating with you longer than you should have in the hopes it get better simply because it was  on your pull list? I have. Several times, in fact. I stuck with 2002’s Weapon X until it was cancelled, which was far longer than I would have done had I just been picking it up off the rack (initially the series was fantastic, and I hoped for a return to form, but instead it trailed off and got gradually worse until it was cancelled at issue #28). I also dropped all of Marvel’s Ultimate line when I’d finally had enough; yes, Ultimate Spider-Man was still going quite strong, but due to the lines propensity to have cross over events, I decided to drop the whole line (for better or for worse).

The real downside to having a pull list is something I realized fairly recently. With my refusal to read any part of Secret Wars or Convergence,  I’d decided to pickup something I don’t normally read, to take the time to actually look at the shelves of my LCS and see what comes out on a weekly basis, and hopefully I would find a gem.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I did.

The Fox, along with Howard the Duck, are two of the most fun comics I’ve read in a long time. There is no underlying current of darkness in the first issue, no shock value hunting violent encounters, but a story that sings of the Golden Age of comics. The Fox will be added to my pull list both so that I don’t miss an issue, and so that my LCS knows to order at least one copy in. This is useful for comics that aren’t as popular as Detective Comics or The Amazing Spider-Man; if your LCS doesn’t know you want to read C.O.W.L. there is an excellent chance that they may not order enough copies in (which would be a shame as it’s a fantastic comic). You could chance it, but why bother?

Pull lists are a fantastic thing, but don’t let them stop you from having a look around every once in awhile. If a title you read is stuck in mediocrity then there is probably a better one out there for you.

After all, comics should be good, and there are so many out there that are.

5 thoughts on “Comics: The Dark Side Of The Pull List

  1. taz-man

    There is a TPB of the first FOX mini series(1-5) of this available from the same creative team. I just picked it up and it’s as entertaining as this series.
    I’m a little mixed on the Convergence books so far. The main book that I have picked up (1-3) has been good but I’m a little disappointed in some of the mini’s.
    I was excited to see some of these characters back even if only for 2 issues but the books have been a very mixed bag.
    Convergence: Justice League International #1 and Convergence: Question both look and read very well and were 2 books that I wish were going to run a little longer than 2 issues.
    Convergence: Green Arrow #1 had a decent story tying Oliver Queen and Conner Hawk together in this first part. Nice clean art and color.
    Convergence: Superboy and the Legion of Super-Heroes #1, I was interested in this one as it is my favorite era for these characters but the odd art and pastel like colors turned me off immediately. I will likely end up reading in eventually on loan.
    Convergence: Justice League of America #1 was a book I did have a few of when they were coming out and was interested in seeing these long forgotten characters again.story and art were so-so. I would have liked it to more closely resemble the original book a bit at the time.
    Batman and the Outsiders #1 and Hawkman are two of the better from this week: story, art and characterization hold very well with the original books.
    This week’ has a 6 I’m looking forward to but the art and look of 2 of them may make me leave them in the store. infinity Inc. and Crime Syndicate don’t appeal to me, but Convergence: Justice Society of America #1, Convergence: World’s Finest Comics #1 ,Convergence: Shazam! #1
    Convergence: Plastic Man and the Freedom Fighters #1 all look very good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing what’ll happen when Convergence is all said and done, and how that’ll impact the DCU as a whole, and which characters will still be standing at the end of it all. But right now I am far more interested in finding the first Fox TPB…

    Like

  3. Pingback: If The Comics Are Good, Then We Should Read Them | Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

  4. Pingback: Characters Or Creators: Which Do You Follow? – Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

Leave a Reply

