Comic Block Review: May 2015

Comic Block is a new subscription box from Nerd Block. I used to subscribe to Nerd Block, but stopped when the theme months began. Partly because December 2014’s block was so disappointing for me, and also because none of the theme thus far have interested me, but I digress. Once I’d heard about Comic Block, I figured I’d give it a try. For $13.99 a month plus around $9 in shipping (to Canada), it seemed like pretty good value for three comics, a t-shirt and “comic themed collectible.”

I got my first Comic Block in the mail today.

unnamed (2)

First things first, if you tally up the price tag value of the items that you can, it’s definitely worth the price of admittance. The t-shirt alone is priced at $20 on the tag, and then we have the comics that come in at about $11 at face value,but with two of them being exclusive variant covers, the cover price may be a bit lower than the actual value in time. The comic themed collectible this month is a Batman print on card stock, and I have no idea what it would be worth.

But is the inaugural Comic Block any good?

The t-shirt is probably one of my favourite shirts that I’ve received in a Block yet (and it isn’t black!), so I’m very happy with that. Of the three comics included, I’m only indifferent about one of them. My avoidance of Marvel and DC’s events this summer has never been anything I’ve been shy of writing about, but with a comic from each event included, I suppose my avoidance of the summer events will end. I suppose time will tell whether I read any more comics in either event.

unnamed (1)

Of the comics included in this block, Marvel’s offering is an exclusive cover of Secret Wars #1 (a $5 comic) I’m not going to review the actual comic, but I am interested in reading it later. The DC comic in the block is the comic I am indifferent too; Convergence: Action Comics #1 (valued at $4). I’ll read it, because it’s a comic and it’s on my coffee table, but I’m not as interested in DC’s comic as I am in Marvel’s.Perhaps the happiest surprise for me was Mythic #1 (because it’s another exclusive variant cover, there’s no value listed, but a quick search on midtowncomics.com gives us a value of $2) from Image Comics. I’d never heard of the series before, but the write up on the included information card is very interesting.

The comic themed collectible, as has already been mentioned, is a Batman print. As far as prints go, it isn’t anything I’d have ever purchased myself, but as a bonus in an already value packed unnamed (3)Comic Block? I’m happy. I’d say that I’ll frame it and put it up, but I probably won’t (too lazy). It’s about the right size for a comic book backing board, though…

Perhaps one of the nicest details in the Comic Block is that each comic arrived in a bag and board for protection. The exclusive variants were in sealed cellophane (Secret Wars is still in tact in the pictures above – I’d already opened Mythic to check if the price was on the back cover), where as Convergence was in a typical bag and board.

All in all, this was a  pretty awesome first block, and I’m going to keep my subscription going for next month. The website says that there’s a chance of a graphic novel included as one of the three comics, so I’m hoping for one sooner or later.

Would I recommend this?

Yeah, I would. And if you use MSA10 as a coupon then you can save 10% off when you sign up (for any Nerd Block box), courtesy of My Subscription Addiction.

15 thoughts on “Comic Block Review: May 2015

  1. Your rock!! I have been trying to figure out if I wanted to get caught up with one of these subscription boxes. There are just too many choices but this review has me sold on at least this one for now. Sadly, your images aren’t loading for me, so I am left to my imagination in regards to the awesomeness you encountered. Many thanks for posting this review!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are correct good sir. The pics look great. I signed up for the month by month for now. My only fear is that they went all out for their inaugural box and all preceding boxes may lack in greatness. But, they could also really knock it out of the park. With all of the changes in Marvel and DC going on this summer, they have some great opportunities to put together some cool themes over the next couple of months.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Where Are All The Superhero Books? | Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

  3. Pingback: Comic Block Review: June 2015 | Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

  4. Pingback: Comic Block Review: June 2015 | Graphic Policy

  5. Pingback: The Down Side To Comic Block | Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

Leave a Reply

