Falling For Comic Book Television

The new television season is right around the corner, and if you’re a comic book fan then there is a lot of shows coming this fall to be excited for. While not an inclusive list of everything comic book related hitting our screens this Fall, the following shows are the ones that have made it onto my DVR schedule for the season based on what I’ve seen thus far.

Yes, there are absences, notable in some cases, but those are shows that for whatever reason don’t interest me – or in the case of those with a second season debuting, shows I didn’t care about last year.

All times below are in Eastern time zone.

Fear The Walking Dead / The Walking Dead
Season 1 is airing Sunday’s at 9pm / Season 6 begins Sunday Oct. 11 at 9pm
Network: AMC

Lumping these two shows into one entry was a fairly easy decision; fans of the long established Walking Dead should be checking out the newer spin off series. Although Fear.. is two episodes in, AMC will undoubtedly run a marathon of the full six episode series before it ends. The spin off has been a much slower burn than the main series, but with the focus being on the start of the outbreak that is to be expected for the first few episodes. The main series returns in October for the sixth season, and I cannot wait to for it to pick up where it left off in March.

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.
Season 3 begins Tuesday Sept. 29  at 9pm
Network: ABC
Based within the same world as the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. took a bit of a critical beating during the first half of the first season, until it really found it’s legs with the episodes following Captain America: The Winter Soldier. The second season was much better overall than the first, and with the introduction of the Inhumans in the second season, the stage has been set for an epic third season that will continue to enrich the MCU.
Marvel’s Agent Carter
Season 2 coming in 2016
Network: ABC
Confession time: I still haven’t seen the first season, but I’ve heard great things about the show that’s still waiting on my DVR. Peggy Carter‘s story picked up after Captain America: The First Avenger, and Cap’s assumed death during the war. Peggy Carter was one of the founding members of S.H.I.E.L.D. (yes, the same agency that’s been central to MANY MCU movies thus far), so there’s bound to be some foreshadowing here. The first season debuted in January last year, so I expect the second one to hit around the same time.

The Flash
Season 2 begins Tuesday Oct. 6 at 8pm
Network: The CW
One of the best comic book television shows on the air last year (the other, Constantine, wasn’t renewed for a second season), this is, probably, the show that I’m looking forward to watching the most this year.

 Arrow
Season 4 starts Wednesday Oct. 7 at 8pm
Network: The CW
Arrow had a bit of a fall with season 3; the show didn’t really have much of a direction, alternating between grim n’ gritty, and dark n’ angry for most of the duration of the season. The quality drop was most notable when compared to the far superior spin off show, The Flash. The fourth season promises a return to the slightly more light hearted tones of the first season, and with Oliver Queen finally adopting the name Green Arrow, I’m going to be cautiously optimistic for this season.

DC’s Legends of Tomorrow
Season 1 coming in early 2016
Network: The CW
I’m going to watch this because it’s spinning out of Arrow and The Flash, but that’s the only reason. I’ll probably stop watching it pretty quickly, because nothing I’ve read so far is instilling me with any confidence about the quality of this spin off. I expect this will hit in January during the mid season break.

Heroes Reborn
Season 1 begins Thursday 8pm September 24th
Nework: NBC
I’m legitimately surprised how much I want to see this. The first season and a half of the original Heroes was some of the best superhero television to grace our screens. The remains two and a half seasons slowly dropped in quality, and viewers, causing the cancellation of a series that was ahead of its’ time. I’m hopeful of a return to form for the contintuaion of the series.


The above TV shows are the one on network channels I’m looking forward too (that are of the superhero variety). There are a couple hitting Netflix in the next year, AKA Jessisa Jones, and the second season of Daredevil to name but two that have me salivating. I didn’t include them above because they can (and probably will be) binge watched in a span of days.

What superhero, and/or comic book television shows have got you excited for this Fall?

2 thoughts on “Falling For Comic Book Television

  1. Supergirl
    (supposed to start on 10/26/15 on CBS)

    Not necessarily because I think it’s going to be super-awesome or because I believe it will outshine the shows you’ve already mentioned. Simply because it’s Supergirl and since it’s very unlikely I’ll ever get to see my other favourite superheroines out there … anyway.

    So yeah, “Agent Carter” definitely, “Arrow” (wholehearted agree with the mentioned slump in season 3).

    Not super-excited about “Flash” and “Legends of Tomorrow” or “S.H.I.E.L.D.” but I’ll be there anyway.

    “Heroes” I’ve never seen and “The Walking Dead” I’ll admit I didn’t make it through the first season because it was just sooo bor- … well, I didn’t really get into it.

    Since they’re up next year (and yes, because I’ll probably watch them in their entirety over a weekend anyway) I won’t mention “Jessica Jones” and “Daredevil” (Punisher!) either. 🙂

    I also like “Avengers Assemble” as a kind of childish guilty pleausre but I think its third season will be up in 2016.

    Like

Leave a Reply

