Solicitations: Do You Read Them?

Personally, I don’t.

I tend to try to avoid them for comics I know I’m going to pick up, because if a comic is already on my pull list then I don’t really need any encouragement to continue to pick it up. It’s not a secret that I avoid trailers for movies I know that I am going to see, so it shouldn’t be a surprise that I avoid solicitations for comics.

Especially when it comes to those that are trying to sell comics after the Big Events.

While I’m not really reading any major events this year, at the same time I don’t want to know how they’re going to end (I can still locate back issues if I really want too) until they actually end. Oftentimes, solicitations months in advance can inadvertently ruin something that’s yet to happen in the comic that I’m currently reading. I will actively avoid any solicitation and previews of comics that I intend to pick up, because I try to keep the story as unknown to me as I possibly can.

The flip side to this, however, is when I run across independent comics, or those that I have no prior intention of picking up. Those, I’m more apt to actually look at – even if it’s only a cursory glance. The current Superman story, Truth looks interesting enough to me that while I’m not reading it in single issue form, I’ll probably pick it up in trade. Likewise for the Green Arrow story that started in issue #41.

Solicitations definitely have their place in today’s comic book world; building anticipation for stories and comics and creating a buzz that may otherwise not be there, but at the risk of ruining an upcoming story.

So the question is, do you read the solicitations?

2 thoughts on “Solicitations: Do You Read Them?

Leave a Reply

