If You Don’t Ask…

Over the past eleven or so months that Ramblings Of A Comics fan has been running, I’ve realized something that I probably always knew, but that I never really acknowledged: if you don’t ask the question, you’ll never know the answer.

Now that’s not really meant to be anything other than an observation, so don’t read on expecting some kind of profound wisdom from yours truly.

However, at some point during the last year (I don’t know when, exactly, and it’s not really important enough for this post to go back and look up a specific date) I also started contributing to Graphic Policy, which has enabled me the opportunity to interview some pretty cool people that otherwise I may not have had the chance too.

Recently I’ve had the pleasure of interviewing for Graphic Policy (via email) Marc Tyler Nobleman, a man that has been working tirelessly to bring recognition to the previously uncredited co-creator of Batman, Bill Finger. The interview will be published around the 8th of February to tie in to the 102nd birthday of Bill Finger, along with a couple of other articles about both Bill and Mr Nobleman that I hope to write, as well as something else, but I’m still working on that, so  don’t want to say anything prematurely in case it doesn’t pan out. The interview with Mr Nobleman is actually something I was really excited about when it all came together, and I hope that you enjoy reading it when it’s posted to Graphic Policy (I will also post it here a day or so afterwards in case you don’t want to keep an eye out for it there).

Had I not reached out to the people I’ve been fortunate enough to interview for Graphic Policy, then I’d never have had the chance to talk to some fantastic creators. Don’t be afraid to ask a question; yes, sometimes the answer may not be what you want to hear (but if you’re asking for a raise and the answer’s no, then you haven’t lost anything), but what if the answer is yes?

I’ll end with a quote from one of my favourite books:

“Once you’ve got a task to do, it’s better to do it than live with the fear of it.”
―Joe Abercrombie, The Blade Itself

Leave a Reply

