Comics To Look Forward To For 6/29

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Friday (maybe Saturday?) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations.

4KidsWalkIntoABank-02 cover4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #2 (Black Mask) The first issue was a brilliant start to a crime caper about four kids walking into a bank. A charmingly intelligent comic that deserves your attention, the first issue was amazing, and if you can find it you should snap it up. I’ve been waiting for the second issue for awhile, and I am so excited for this.

Cryptocracy #1 (Boom) A super secret group directing the world behind the scenes? Could  be fun (it is – I’ve already read it).

haunted mansion 4Haunted Mansion #4 (Marvel) I’ve spent some time at Walt Disney World (I’m wearing a Grumpy t-shirt as I write this), and Haunted Mansion was one of my favourite rides. The comic is entertaining, too, and its also encouraging my wife to get into comics, so that’s a plus too.

Judge Dredd #7 (IDW) A brutal comic that I can’t seem to put down. This is a fantastic take on a character that I used to love as a teenager in England.

lobster2Lobster Johnson: Metal Monsters Of Midtown #2 (Dark Horse) Lobster Johnson is one of those characters that evokes the feel of the pulp heroes from the late 30’s, which is already something I’m a fan of, and then when you add in the fantastic period art work and the steampunkish element of the Metal Monsters and you have a miniseries that is right up my alley.

xo manowar_047_coverWill Eisner’s The Spirit #12 (Dynamite) This has been one of the most entertaining series of the last year, hands down. Every week this comic comes out is a good week.

X-O Manowar #47 (Valiant) Pound for pound, Valiant have the best superhero universe out there, but when the premier title in the Valiant universe is coming to a close with an explosive story… I can’t wait to see where this is going. Plus, there’s a bonus print with the physical comic, so that’s also cool.

3 thoughts on “Comics To Look Forward To For 6/29

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up For 6/29 Comics – Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up For 7/7’s Comics – Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up For 7/13’s Comics – Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

Leave a Reply

