Comics To Look Forward To For 7/6

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Friday (maybe Saturday?) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations. There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, and some weeks will be more empty than others.

4001-SM_001_COVER-B_HETRICK4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1 (Valiant) 4001 A.D. has been a pretty great event so far, and while it isn’t the best miniseries Valiant are putting out right now (Divinity holds that title), it’s still better than most other . As with the Bloodshot tie-in comic, this one looks like it can be read independently of the main series; so if you’re not reading the main series, you can sill pick this up no problem.

Batman #2 (DC) I really enjoyed the first issue – much more than I expected I would – and so naturally I’m looking forward to this. Tom King’s take on Batman  has been solid, but at only an issue in it’s probably too early to pass fair judgement on that, eh? Plus, there’s David Finch on pencils, and as I’m a big fan of his work, it’s hard not to jump on this book.

Moon Knight #4 (Marvel) Honestly, this series hasn’t been as good as the 2014 series, but we’re also only four issues in. I’ll give it a couple more before I do cancel it, because it feels like there is potential here for a great story… but we haven’t really seen that yet. That said, the artists’ are probably the best part of this book

Vote Loki #2 (Marvel) The first issue was brilliant fun. Is it particularly faithful to the Presidential election process? I honestly don’t know, but I absolutely loved it nonetheless. It’s a fun comic that doesn’t take itself too seriously at all, and sometimes that’s exactly what you need.

 

Leave a Reply

