Comics To Look Out For On 7/13

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Friday (maybe Saturday?) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations. There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, and some weeks will be more empty than others.

conan the slayer #1 coverBloodshot Reborn #15 (Valiant) Right now this arc is a cross between Predator and Survivor; it’s an interesting combination, but one that’s working very well for the series. Plus the art is eerily good, and that’s always a bonus.

Conan The Slayer #1 (Dark Horse) I always get excited whenever a new Conan comic (or movie, but those are far fewer in frequency), but I inevitably stop reading them at some point – and usually I have no idea why.

Nightwing Rebirth #1 (DC) I was never keen on the idea of Dick Grayson as a spy, and by not continuing to read his solo series post Nightwing, apparently I missed out on a great series. But my dislike of spy heavy stories kept me away from the former Boy Wonder at first, and then there was a general reluctance to dive in after eight plus missed issues. Now that the issue numbers are restarting, and the mask is back?

Ninjak #17 (Valiant) Despite my general avoidance of spy comics, Ninjak has always been the exception to the rule, likely because of the ninja styling of the MI-6 operate starring in the comic.

Old Man Logan #8 (Marvel) After the last three issues left me bare foot (that’s a pretentious way of saying they blew my socks off), I have high hopes for the next arc. If WRATH of the eternal warrior_009_COVER-A_ALLENit’s half as good as the last one, I’ll be happy.

The Paybacks #1 (Heavy Metal Magazine) The first four issue arc was superb, blending the feeling of overwhelming debt with superpowers and the humour that results from such an outrageous pairing turned into one of the best series I’d ever read from then publisher Dark Horse. Now that the Paybacks are back with Heavy Metal, I’m beyond excited to get my grubby mitts on them again.

Wrath Of the Eternal Warrior #9 (Valiant) The Eternal Warrior is free from the Labyrinth and wants vengeance. I’m just happy to get another issue of my favourite series.

Leave a Reply

