Comics To Look Out For On 7/27

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Friday (maybe Saturday?) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations. There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, and some weeks will be more empty than others.

No covers this week because I’m lazy.

4001 A.D. #3 (Valiant) 
Hands down the best event this summer. I can’t wait to read this.

Action Comics #960 (DC)
There’s something about the frenetic energy of this comic that has just clicked with me, and for the first time in twenty years I am beyond excited at the thought of a Superman comic.

Cryptocracy #2 (Dark Horse)
Secret societies running the world? Sounds like a story that’s right up my alley.

Divinity II #4 (Valiant)
The first Divinity miniseries didn’t really click for me – oh, I understood why it was held in such high regard, but the series never resonated with me as much as it does with other people (don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed it). I probably need to read it again, because Divinity II  can apparently do no wrong in my eyes. The final issue of the four issue miniseries is bitter sweet, because this has been so good I just don’t want it to end.

Haunted Mansion #5 (Marvel)
You probably wrote this off when you found out it was a comic based on a Disney ride, didn’t you? If you did, that’s a shame, because you’re missing out on a truly enjoyable five issue mini series.

Howard The Duck # 9 (Marvel)
An underappreciated gem, this series is one of the most effortlessly entertaining comics on the racks today.

Nightwing #1 (DC)
Nightwing’s back!

Old Man Logan #9 (Marvel)
The last issue was… divisive. While I  wasn’t a fan of the comic reminding us yet again where this version of Wolverine hails from, other praised an emotional story focusing on the nightmares the old man lives with daily. I re-read the last issue, and I understand the more positive point of view, but that doesn’t mean I’m happy for the character to be nothing but that. Here’s hoping this issue take Old Man Logan in a new direction.

Predator vs Judge Dredd  vs Aliens #1 (Dark Horse)
I’m a sucker for Judge Dredd, and so getting to read about him shooting Aliens? Take my money.

Titans #1(DC)
After the best Rebirth special was the Titans one, it’d be rude of me to not get excited for the first issue of the new ongoing series.

X-O Manowar #47 (Valiant)
Valiant’s longest running series is coming to a close with issue #50, and for the duration of this arc the company are giving away free art prints (or original artwork if you’re lucky) with each issue. Which is great value on it’s own, but the story itself has also been pretty great, making the art print a happy bonus.

 

Leave a Reply

