Comics To Look Out For On 8/3

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Saturday (maybe later) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations. There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, and some weeks will be more empty than others.

warmother-14001 A.D.: War Mother #1 (Valiant)
So this is Valiant’s mystery comic that’s tying into  4001 A.D., eh? With all the hype that the publisher have been trying to build around it, I really hope it’s half as good as they seem to think it is, because if my guess is right this could be a launching point for an entirely new set of stories in the 4001 A.D. time frame.

Batman #4 (DC)
There’s something about Batman training young heroes that seems to be the popular thing to do right now. I’m not complaining, however, because this is a fun comic with Tom King throwing a bunch of nods to older Bat-material as he goes. It’s a fun book to read, and with a certain underused villain popping up last issue, I eager to see where King takes us.

Dishonored #1 (Titan)
I loved this game when I played it on PS3 a couple years ago, so I’m excited to see where the story has progressed to since the end of the game. I’m also expecting this to be less than excellent, but I’m always hopeful.

evil heroes 1 Evil Heroes #1 (Zenescope Entertainment)
I’m not gonna lie, this is here solely because of the name.  I know nothing else about the comic.

Moon Knight #5 (Marvel)
Moon Knight verses Moon Knight. Just when you thought this couldn’t get any crazier…

Suicide Squad Rebirth #1 (DC)
I have never read anything Suicide Squad before, so with the movie coming this week, what better place to start?

Superman #4 (DC)
One of the better stories to emerge from Rebirth, this comic made me want to read Superman stories again because of it’s focus on Superman as a husband and father, which brings a fantastic new dynamic to the man of steel.

Leave a Reply

