Weekly Wrap Up For 8/3’s Titles

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. You can find my reasons for being excited about these comics here.  Now that I’ve read the comics I was excited about, were they as good as I hoped? Were there others that surprised me?

Read on, and find out!


4001 A.D.: War Mother #1
(Valiant)
So this is Valiant’s mystery comic that’s tying into  4001 A.D., eh? There’s a full review here.

BM_Cv4_ds copyBatman #4 (DC)
This series improves issue over issue for me, and is one of the highlights of the Rebirth titles right now. Tom King is giving us a Batman who doesn’t seem as god-like as he has been in the past. It’s interesting turn to the character as we’re reminded of his morality and the limits he faces when compared to somebody like Superman. Or the Gotham twins. While I’m still not keen on Gotham Girl’s name, the same cannot be said for the direction the story is taking, or for David Finch’s artwork. The series has really taken me by surprise with just how much I’m enjoying it.

Dishonored #1 (Titan)
You may have already seen the full review posted here.

Moon Knight #5 (Marvel) Eh….  it’s okay. Visually stunning, really stunning at times with the sheer number of creative teams working on the issue – but the reason behind the army of artists is a good one – with the differing styles all pulled together by Jordie Bellaire’s colouring. With the first arc over, I can say that this wasn’t the best five issues of Moon Knight I’ve ever read, but it was far from the worst, either.

Superman #4 (DC)  So. Superman, eh? This was an absolute blast to read and I enjoyed every panel. There’s something fantastic about having Superman have a family, and his struggle to protect them as well as everybody else is captivating.

Vote Loki #3 (Marvel)  I don’t think I should be enjoying this as much as I am, but this is one of the best comics I’ve read all week. I say that in the same way that I say Army Of Darkness is a great movie -it’s a fantastic story that may not be as great as other movies, but as long as you just want to be entertained then you can’t go wrong. It’s that same with Vote Loki.

 

Leave a Reply

