Comics To Look Out For On 8/10

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Saturday (maybe later) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations. There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, and some weeks will be more empty than others.

A&A 6A&A: Archer And Armstrong #6 (Valiant)  I always enjoy reading the adventures of these two, in what is easily one of Valiant’s most entertaining comics. And from arguably the best publisher around, that’s saying something (or it should be). This issue kicks off a new arc, and Valiant are pretty good at easing new readers in to their comics at the start of each arc, so this is an ideal issue to start with if you’re not already reading this series.

All-Star Batman (DC) Scott Snyder returns to Batman with a new monthly comic. As one of my favourite Batman writers in recent times, I’m looking forward to getting my hands on this comic and seeing how it compare to his earlier work, and also the current writers of Detective Comics and Batman.

New Superman #2 (DC) A new Superman living in China? Issue #1 cast the new Superman as a (former?) bully who stood up to the right person at the right time – but that doesn’t necessarily mean he has the right stuff to be a hero, does it…?

Old Man Logan #10 (Marvel) I have wanted to love this series since it launched, but I’ve found it a little hit and miss as the issues have ticked by – more hit than miss, in all
Ninjak 18honesty, though. The art has been consistently brilliant, however, and the series has been worth reading for that alone, but the new arc seems to be taking Old Man Logan into an intriguing story line.

Red Hood And The Outlaws #1 (DC) I’m just curious to see if it’s just Red Hood here, or if the Outlaws from the New 52 series will join him.

Ninjak #18 (Marvel) One of my favourite tie-ins to Book Of Death involved both of the characters featured in this new story: Ninjak and the Eternal Warrior, from around this time period in Valiant’s continuity. I’m excited to see the pair of them back together again.

Leave a Reply

