Comics To Look Out For: 8/31

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism.

Check back Saturday (maybe later) when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the below and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations. There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, and some weeks will be more empty than others.

4001 A.D. #4 (Valiant)
Valiant’s summer event comes to a close with this issue, and having already read it, it’s a very satisfying conclusion. Every bit as good as I wanted it to be.

Bloodshot Reborn #16 (Valiant)
This is one of the best looking comics around right now, and is worth reading just for the art. Fortunately Jeff Lemire’s Groundhog Days meets Survivor story is violently captivating.

Howard The Duck #10 (Marvel)
It’s a shame this series is coming to an end, and while I’m not sure when that’ll happen exactly, I’m going to enjoy each issue we get until the series is no more. Howard the Duck has been a brilliant read each month partly because of Chip Zdarsky’s jab at almost everybody, and partly because of the way the comic pokes fun at itself.

Paybacks #2 (Heavy Metal)
If you read nothing else this week, read The Paybacks. It’s a brilliantly written series that should be on your pull list.

Predator vs Judge Dredd vs Aliens #2 (Dark Horse) 
A concept that’s as jaw dropping as having peanut butter on a hamburger – and just as delicious. No, don’t eat the comic. Read the comic, eat the peanut butter burger, love both.

X-O Manowar #49 (Valiant)
The penultimate issue of Valiant’s flagship title is one that long time fans of the series (or those of us reading from #38) is one that

 

Leave a Reply

