Weekly Wrap Up For 8/31’s Comics

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. You can find my reasons for being excited about these comics here.  Now that I’ve read the comics I was excited about, were they as good as I hoped? Were there others that surprised me?

Read on, and find out!

4001 A.D. #4 (Valiant)
Valiant’s summer event comes to a close with this issue, and it was every bit as good as I wanted it to be. Full review here.

cryptocracy 3Bloodshot Reborn #16 (Valiant)
This is one of the best looking comics around right now, and is worth reading just for the art. Fortunately Jeff Lemire’s Groundhog Days meets Survivor story is violently captivating. Full review here.

Cryptocracy #3 (Dark Horse) The series continues to plug along quite nicely but there’s some digital backgrounds that look like they’re about fifteen years old, and that’s not ideal to say the least. Dodgy background aside, the non digital bits are actually well done, which makes the difference between foreground and background that much more noticeable.

Howard The Duck #10 (Marvel)
It’s a shame this series is coming to an end, and while I’m not sure when that’ll happen exactly, I’m going to enjoy each issue we get until the series is no more. Howard the Duck has been a brilliant read each month partly because of Chip Zdarsky’s jab at almost everybody, and partly because of the way the comic pokes fun at itself.

Paybacks #2 (Heavy Metal Comics)
This is a brilliantly written series that should be on your pull list. Full review here.

pvjdvaPredator vs Judge Dredd vs Aliens #2 (Dark Horse)  I honestly started reading this series expecting it to be a blood train wreck of a comic. While it’s certainly bloody, it’s far from a train wreck. I’ve been really pleasantly surprised by this series so far, and we’re only two issues in – I’m looking forward to what’s coming next.

 

Witchfinder: City Of The Dead #1 (Dark Horse) An interesting read that feels very much like a story from the late 1800’s with the colours and the way Mignola writes. I’m not the biggest fan of his work (but that’s simply because I haven’t read much), so I can’t comment on how this compares to his other comics, but this one was better than I hoped for. A solid start to a zombie/mystery story.

X-O Manowar #49 (Valiant)
The penultimate issue of Valiant’s flagship title is one that long time fans of the series (or those of us reading from #38) is a pretty good by the number offering. Full review here.

Leave a Reply

