Thought Of The Day: My Stupid Expensive Comic Arrived

Back in July, I wrote about how I was about to spend far too much money on a comic. Well, a little over a month later, I actually did it. The shipping was over half the price of the comic (but it was packaged incredibly well), so the price was a little higher than the comic alone – no option for free shipping here – but at the end of the day, I still got a comic signed by Stan Lee that also has the benefit of being CGC graded for around $230 US shipping included.

Was it worth the price?

In order to answer that, I’ll give you a little context. Six or seven months ago, I had every intention of going to Fan Expo in Toronto for a chance to meet Stan Lee amongst other things at the con – but primarily to get a signed issue from Stan.  When that didn’t look like it was a possibility, I started thinking about other options.

Buying a signed comic online was then my only option, because let’s face it, the dude is coming on 94, and his con appearances are likely going to start dwindling off now – and there’s a solid chance I’d not be able to make it to one of the few cons he would appear at next year. So spending $230 US on a comic, while slightly excessive for the issue in question (Thor: Crown Of Fools), was far cheaper  than hotels, planes, and all the myriad things that would cost money when heading to a con for a chance to get the actual issue I wanted signed.

In that respect, getting a Stan Lee signed and graded comic was well worth it for me – but maybe the same can’t be said for you. It may not be the issue I wanted signed, but beggars and choosers. And the website I used, Stan Lee Collectibles, were perfectly adequate – no complaints, and the service was smooth and problem free.

What I’m going to do with the comic now that I have it, I have no idea. Like as not I’ll find it some sunlight-free wall space sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

