Weekly Wrap Up: Comics Released 9/14

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. You can find my reasons for being excited about these comics here.  Now that I’ve read the comics I was excited about, were they as good as I hoped? Were there others that surprised me?

Read on, and find out!


ac_cv963_dsAction Comics #963 (DC) There’s a human Clark Kent running around Metropolis who seems to genuinely believe he isn’t Superman. Which, considering we know he isn’t  the Superman we’ve been following since Rebirth began, is an intriguing proposition. One issue in, and this is shaping up to be a story that explores the impact of Superman on other character’s lives – something that really intrigues me.

All-Star Batman #2 (DC)  Despite the $4.99 price tag, this comic is so worth the money.

Dark Souls: Legends Of The Flame #1 (Titan Comics) I wasn’t expecting this to be an anthology, but it is, and I was quite pleasantly surprised by it. The individually stories are distinct in their illustration and story telling methods, and are neatly tied together to
make an in story connection to each other – and I’m sure I missed a couple more, as well. This comic may be aimed toward fans of the series, but it can also be enjoyed by those who have an interest in fantasy style comics.

Faith #3 (Valiant) I loved this comic. You can find out why here.

Green Lanterns #6 (DC) There’s a couple of great character building moments in this issue that, for me at least, make this the stronger of the two Green Lantern titles this week. The mycroft_02_cover_aback ad forth bickering between Simon and Jessica is entertaining, but also serves as a great narrative device to keep readers abreast of the situation while also providing a few laughs.

Kingway West #2 (Dark Horse) Not a bad issue… but it wasn’t as gripping as the first. Worth looking into if you’ve read the first issue.

Mycroft Holmes #1 & #2 (Titan) Why haven’t I been reading this already? I picked up the first issue when it came out… and forgot about it. Then the second came around, and I grabbed it, figuring it’ll be a quick diversion. Nope – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s writing a comic that fans of the Sherlock TV show, or the movies, can expect to love. Mycroft, unlike his brother, is a likeable scoundrel who just happens to be as intelligent as the great old-man-logan-11detective.

Old Man Logan #11 (Marvel) Holy shit. The art in this issue is fantastic. There’s a brilliant two page spread early on that I just stared at, marveling at how interesting the layout was. And then there’s another that’s even better! In two pages, with minimal dialogue Andrea Sorrentino tells the story of the same two men fighting a similar fight fifty years apart. It’s one of the most inventive and visually interesting pieces of art I’ve seen in a long time.

Wrath Of The Eternal Warrior #11 (Valiant) Another issue, another home run. Full review here.

One thought on “Weekly Wrap Up: Comics Released 9/14

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap: Comics Released 9/21 – Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

Leave a Reply

