Comics To Look Forward To: 9/21

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. And because this is a blog where I talk about comics, I thought why not take a look at some of the comics that I’m excited about this week in alphabetical order so as to avoid obvious favoritism… but there’s always going to be some comics that I just can’t wait to get my hands on more than others.

There’s no defined limit on the comics I’ll include here, it really just depends on what I’m excited about. This week there’s a lot of comics starting with the letter B…

britannia_001_coverBatman #7 (DC) The best part about the biweekly shipping is that I don’t need to wait a whole month to get into the next issue, and with the way Tom King set up the next arc, that’s a very good thing.

Black Hammer #3 (Dark Horse) This is a bit of a cheat, because I’ve already read the book, but I don’t hear enough chatter about Jeff Lemire’s story about Golden Age heroes that have been stuck in a purgatory-like town (though some are adapting better than others) for ten years. It’s a gripping tale, and this left me wanting more.

Britannia #1 (Valiant) Britain in the Dark Ages as a story setting has always fascinated me (in fact, I just picked up a book set around Ceaser’s first invasion today), so when I found out that Valiant were publishing a comic written by Peter Milligan with Juan Jose Ryp and Jordie Bellaire attached to it, I knew I’d be reading it. I know very little about the story, honestly, other than it features a Roman detective, but I can’t wait to dive in.

phantom-tpbPhantom TP Vol. 01 Danger In The Forbidden City (Hermes) The Phantom is  character that will always have a soft spot in my geekdom – and while there have certainly been some bad comics released featuring the Ghost Who Walks, there have been some great ones a well (Dynamites Last Phantom is one of the best I’ve read recently). So when I found out about this collection, written by Peter David, I got pretty excited.

Vote Loki #4 (Marvel) Will Loki become President? Will he get punched in the face? Will he tell the truth at any point? I have no idea, but I can’t wait to find out.

 


Check back on the weekend when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the above and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations.

One thought on “Comics To Look Forward To: 9/21

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap: Comics Released 9/21 – Ramblings Of A Comics Fan

Leave a Reply

