Weekly Wrap: Comics Released 9/21

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. You can find my reasons for being excited about these comics here. It was a relatively light week for me this time through (a little different from last week), but now that I’ve read the comics I was excited about, were they as good as I hoped? Were there others that surprised me?

Read on, and find out!

bm_cv7_open_order_varBatman #7 (DC) I’m not usually a fan of crossover stories, but I’m going into this with an open mind as this issue sees the start of the Night Of The Monster Men, and I can’t help but compare it to the excellent 2006 six issue mini Batman And The Monster Men. That being said, this is an interesting start to the story.

Nightwing #5 (DC) And here’s the second chapter of Night Of The Monster Men. We get to see a little more Nightwing this issue than last (which is to be expected given that this is a Nightwing comic), and there’s an unseen threat that permeates this issue, which leads us a almost horror-esque feeling to the proceedings.

Black Hammer #3 (Dark Horse) A gripping tale that left me wanting more, this is one of the better series that Jeff Lemire has written – totally worth checking out if you can find it.

Britannia #1 (Valiant) A superb start to the story. I wrote a full review that you can find over on Graphic Policy here.

Judge Dredd #10 (IDW) I don’t remember the last issue of this comic that I read, but that didn’t impact my ability to follow the story here. This is a fun issue that feels like it’s just moments away from taking the piss out of itself every couple of pages.

Phantom TP Vol. 01 Danger In The Forbidden City (Hermes) I wasn’t able to find this at my shop this week, but as soon as I can I’ll let you know how it was.

revolution01_cvrri_bRevolution #1 (IDW) Even without knowing anything  about the comic universes of the characters involved in IDW’s crossover of Hasbro properties (Transformers, GI Joe, Action Man and ROM), this first issue knocked my socks off. It was chaotically awesome, and the stakes are certainly set pretty quickly. I’m going to be diving into the tie-ins pretty soon, because this crossover is looking fantastic.

Vote Loki #4 (Marvel) The ending shouldn’t really come as a surprise to anybody, but the journey to get there was quite entertaining. Vote Loki was a fun diversion that may not hold up in the years to come, but right now it’s worth a read.


Check back on the weekend when I’ve had a chance to read most, if not all, of the above and I’ll let you know if they lived up to my expectations.

Leave a Reply

