Weekly Wrap Up: Comics Released 9/28

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. You can find my reasons for being excited about these comics here. It was a relatively light week for me this time through, but now that I’ve read the comics I was excited about, were they as good as I hoped? Were there others that surprised me?

Read on, and find out!

 

ac_cv964_dsAction Comics #964 (DC) It’s hard to explain how enjoyable this issue was, because on the face of things, it was largely just two men talking with a bit of flashback action. The dialogue was very well done, and despite being the second part of a story, can easily be read as a standalone.

Blue Beetle #1 (DC) I loved the Blue Beetle series from before the New 52. This first issue is shaping out to be a poor imitation of that series; full review here.

Bloodshot Reborn #17  (Valiant) This is arguably one of the best looking books on the racks today. It’s also a damn good comic.

Conan The Slayer #3 (Dark Horse) Action! Adventure! A story that takes place within about ten minutes, and feels so very Conan. If you like fantasy comics, this is the one for you.

Cryptocracy #4 (Dark Horse) Was a pretty decent comic, and the series continues to deliver a solid story (although the background art was much better this issue).

Detective Comics #941 (DC) The Night Of The Monster Men crossover continues, and I kinda just want it over and done with. It’s just not doing it for me, and the need to pick up multiple series to follow the story is kinda annoying. I’m looking forward to the end of the tale, honestly.

Generation Zero #2 (Valiant) A solid second issue that builds on the foundations of the first a little slower than I’d have liked. There’s a lot of potential here, though.

Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps (DC) This issue is the calm before the storm, and I cannot wait until the storm breaks over the yellow lanterns – hopefully the next issue, but the build up is being teased out so well I’m happy to wait a little longer.

Paybacks #3 (Heavy Metal Comics) I started a review over at Graphic Policy, but then I just started to ramble away. The long and the short of it is if you can find this, buy it.

X-O Manowar #50  (Valiant) Well, here we are. The final chapter in the current run of X-O Manowar is one of the best series finales I have read in years. Find out why here

Leave a Reply

