Weekly Wrap Up: Comics Released 10/19

Each week there are comics that come out that I just can’t wait to read, and some that I really don’t care about. You can find my reasons for being excited about these comics here. It was a relatively light week for me this time through, but now that I’ve read the comics I was excited about, were they as good as I hoped? Were there others that surprised me?

Read on, and find out!

black-hammerBatman #9 (DC)  Now that Night Of The Monster Men is over, I’m glad we get to the story that was hinted at toward the end of I Am Gotham, even if the first issue was a little less memorable than I’d have liked. Not a bad issue, but it doesn’t quite reach great status.

Black  Hammer #4 (Dark Horse)* This is quite possibly one of the best series that Jeff Lemire is currently writing. It is just fantastic story about former superheroes somehow stranded in a place not of their choosing, with varying degrees of acceptance. How, or why they’re there hasn’t been revealed, but the buildup is fantastic.

Deadpool: Too Soon #1 (Marvel)* I’m not typically a fan of Deadpool unless he’s not the main draw of a book (Uncanny X-Force still has some of the best Deadpool moments for my money), and while this comic was enjoyable, it didn’t really make me laugh. It was just… okay.

Faith #4 (Valiant) Another issue of Faith another awesome comic. Full review here.

Green Lanterns #9 (DC) A solid comic that provides some background on a character who is, more than likely, going to play a big role in the coming issues. Not the best in the series, but still worth reading.

Ninjak #20 (Valiant) Happily, the current arc has had a welcome return to form. Full review here.

Leave a Reply

