Here We Go Again: The Crow Reboot

It was recently announced that the newest iteration of The Crow movie franchise will begin filming next year, after several starts and stops with the production process (funding was an issue, apparently) with Jason Momoa playing Eric Draven, the same role that was played by the late Brandon Lee in the original 1994 adaptation of James O’Barr’s seminal graphic novel.

I have feelings about this news, and they’re pretty strong, so what better night to talk about them than on the night before Halloween, or Devil’s Night, since it play such a crucial part in the movie?

crow-posterThe 1994 movie had a huge impact on me when I first saw it around the turn of the century. Probably in 1999, maybe 2000 – honestly, the exact date doesn’t matter, but what does is that I wore the VHS tape out. This was a movie that I loved in every way possible – the story, the aesthetic, the soundtrack and score… The Crow was very much a life changing movie for me – I still firmly believe that it’s a criminally underrated movie, and remains to this day firmly within my favourite comic book movies.

The sequels, however, not so much. They’re really not worth your time, aside from the third movie, The Crow: Salvation, but even that isn’t exactly a great movie – it’s just the best of the bunch. 

Which brings us to the new movie.

You’re probably expecting me to go on a five hundred word rant about how wrong this movie is at this point, and that such a sacred thing should never be remade, eh? I don’t think I’ve ever written about how much I love that movie, but even after having not seen it in at least five years (maybe even as much as ten years), when I rewatched the movie today, I found that it was still every bit as good as I remembered.

So I should probably get angry and fly into a nerd rage at those who have the audacity to remake such a film, eh?

Yeah, that’s not going to happen today. Y’see one of the first things I read about the new movie is that it’s actually an adaptation of James O’Barr’s original graphic novel and not a remake of the 1994 movie – where it not for that I’d probably be a bit more upset, to be honest. The Crow is such a great story in both mediums, and you can easily read or watch it and still get the same experience. The 1994 movie is clearly based on the graphic novel, but the story has been altered in a way that better suits the constraints of the silver screen – and I don’t think that’s a bad thing – so when I found out that the newest movie was a different adaptation on the original story I was excited.

Will there be similarities between the new adaptation and the 1994 version? Without a doubt.

But that comes with the territory, really, as both the first movie and this latest one are adaptations of the same source material,  there’s bound to be elements that are the same in each film – whether it’s the names of some characters, general plot details, or the distinctive face paint/markings  that have become so closely associated with the franchise, there will be things that are similar. These are the things that, aside from the movie’s name, will be the main source for the comparison. And that’s completely fair.

There will inevitably be those who compare the two movies, and obvious technological advances of the last twenty plus years aside, it’ll be interesting to see how the two films compare. I’m a huge fan of the 1994 movie – I probably always will be – but rather than fly into a nerd rage about the new adaptation, I’m cautiously optimistic. I’m too old to get angry about what could happen in two plus years from a movie that, when all is said and done, I’ll probably enjoy. Those strong feelings I mentioned? They’re abut my refusal to be angry about the movie before I’ve seen it.

But if the movie sucks… then the rage will come.

Maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

